Press "Enter" to skip to content

New Hampshire Press Association announces 2019 Lifetime Achievement Awards

Three veteran New Hampshire journalists, each with well more than three decades exemplary service to the news industry and freedom on speech, will be honored with Lifetime Achievement awards from the New Hampshire Press Association during its 2019 Distinguished Journalism awards ceremony Wednesday, August 12 at 7 p.m.

The honorees are:

Kevin Landrigan

Kevin Landrigan

The longtime Statehouse Bureau Chief for the Nashua Telegraph and reporter for NH1 now covers state politics for the New Hampshire Union Leader. His astute political observations are respected nationwide.



Garry Rayno

 Another Statehouse icon, Garry has roamed the hallways of political power for three-plus decades, for Foster’s Daily Democrat, the New Hampshire Union Leader, and now



David Tirrell-Wysocki

A staple of New Hampshire journalism for more than 40 years Dave was an essential member of the state’s  Associated Press bureau before moving on to be the highly successful Executive Director of the Nackey S. Loeb School of Communications.



This year’s awards event will be conducted live online, accessible at the Press Association’s Facebook page ( and hosted by Kimberly Haas (New Hampshire Union Leader) and Vanessa Palange (Newspapers of New England). 

The event begins at 6:30 p.m. with the announcements of the college division winners and follows at 7 p.m. with the professional awards. 

Following is the order in which the categories will be announced.  

  1. Feature Story
  2. Feature Photo
  3. Feature Page 
  4. Photo Essay
  5. Graphic-Cartoon-Illustration
  6. Entertainment Reporting
  7. Health Reporting
  8. Business-Economic Reporting
  9. Crime and Court Reporting
  10. General News Story
  11. General News Photo
  12. Special Section
  13. Magazine Cover
  14. Front Page
  15. Sports News
  16. Sports Photo
  17. Sports Feature
  18. Sports Feature Photo
  19. Sports Columnist
  20. Sports Page
  21. Spot News Photo
  22. Spot news reporting
  23. Investigative Story/Series
  24. Editorial Writing
  25. Podcast Limited Series
  26. Podcast – Reoccurring
  27. Best Use Social Media
  28. Best Use of Audio – Feature
  29. Best Use of Audio – News
  30. Best Use of Video –  Feature
  31. Best Use of Video – News
  32. Columnist of the Year
  33. Photographer of the year
  34. Excellence in Collaboration and Partnership
  35. Community Service
  36. First Amendment
  37. General Excellence – radio
  38. General Excellence – magazine
  39. General Excellence – Digital Presence
  40. General Excellence Non-Daily
  41. General Excellence Daily Newspaper
  42. Dennis Joos Memorial Award
  43. Lifetime Achievement
  44. Journalist of the Year.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *