Press "Enter" to skip to content

Distinguished Journalism Contest for 2022 now open

Photo by Allegra Boverman.

The New Hampshire Press Association is now accepting entries for the Distinguished Journalism Contest for 2022.

The contest year includes all of 2022, right up to Dec. 31, but we thought it would be helpful to get the contest link distributed for those who want to get a jump start on the process.

The contest deadlines are:
Monday, March 6, 2023, for the Professional Contest

Monday, February 6, 2023, for the College and High School Contests

Important updates for 2022

The Contest Committee recommended several changes to the recognition event scheduling and contest categories, which were endorsed by the Board of Directors at the Annual Meeting in October and approved by the Executive Board in November, based largely on feedback from members. These included: 

SEPARATE CONTEST & RECOGNITION EVENT FOR COLLEGES AND HIGH SCHOOLS – There will now be a separate contest and event for student journalists, to include college and high school students. Awards will be given at a day-long event in April, to include morning workshops or a critique session, an awards luncheon, followed by afternoon networking opportunity or NHPA member job fair. The High School contest will have one category — Special Recognition for Outstanding High School Journalism – with first, second and third place awards. (See rules for more details). 

ONLY TWO CLASSES FOR THE PROFESSIONAL CONTEST – Large News Organizations (5 FTE or more) and Small News Organizations (4 FTE or fewer). The WEEKLY class has been eliminated in recognition of the fact that all news organizations, even those that publish weekly in print, are now engaged in frequent distribution of content through websites, social media, podcasts or other platforms. 

CONSOLIDATION OF GENERAL EXCELLENCE AWARDS – Instead of five general excellence awards (digital, magazine, college, daily, and non-daily), the contest will recognize general excellence in large news organizations, small news organizations, college news organizations and high school news organizations. This award recognizes excellence in multi-platform journalism by a news organization, including print, web, broadcast, podcast, social media and multimedia. 

CONSOLIDATION OF SOME CONTEST CATEGORIES – Instead of Best Use of Video for news, sports and features, there is now one category called Best Use of Video. Instead of separate awards for sports breaking, sports non-breaking, sports feature and sports column, there is now one category for Sports Writing. A few other categories, such as design, were consolidated in a similar fashion. 

Here are the pertinent links:

The contest homepage (All entries must go through this online platform):

The Professional Contest Rules (Essential Reading): 

The College and High School Contest Rules (Essential Reading):

A how-to for the online entry process


Remember: Your dues for 2022-2023 must be current to enter the contest. Any questions about the status of dues payment can be directed to me at

Happy entering, with an eye toward another great awards banquet in June, the recognition you and your team deserve, and the peer support we all need now more than ever.

Dave Solomon
Executive Director
New Hampshire Press Association

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *