Press "Enter" to skip to content

NHPA recognizes student journalists, elects new officers

The NHPA held its first ever Student Awards Luncheon and Workshop on April 14 at the UNH Memorial Union Building, with more than 50 students from six high schools and two colleges attending for the judge’s panel discussion, an awards luncheon and open networking.

The Bedford High School website “Unleashed” won first place for General Excellence in the high school category, while “The New Hampshire,” UNH’s student-run news website, won first place in the college/university category. The full list of award winners appears below.

The NHPA would like to again thank our sponsors for the event, the University of New Hampshire Journalism Department, which donated the space; and board member Rose Kundanis, who paid for the luncheon.

At the annual meeting that followed the awards luncheon, the NHPA Board of Directors elected a new slate of officers for two-year terms:

President – Brendan McQuaidNH Union Leader

Vice President – Mark Guerringue, Conway Daily Sun

Secretary – Annmarie Timmins, NH Bulletin

Treasurer – Melanie Plenda, Granite State News Collaborative

Immediate past president – Howard Altschiller, Seacoast Media Group

At Large – Geoff Forester, Concord Monitor

At Large – Carol Robidoux, Manchester Ink Link

Ex Officio – Laura Simoes, Nackey S. Loeb School of Communications

Ex Officio – Tom Haines, University of New Hampshire

Ex Officio – Kristen Nevious, Franklin Pierce University

Ex Officio – Rose Kundanis, Keene State College

Executive Director: David Solomon, freelance writer

The Board also approved bylaw changes adding a fourth ex-officio member.

Now it’s onto June 15 and the awards banquet for the Professional Contest, to be held at the New Hampshire Institute for Politics at St. Anselm College

NHPA 2022 Distinguished Journalism Contest

High School and College Division Awards Luncheon

April 14, 2023, UNH Memorial Union Building

Special Recognition for Outstanding High School Journalism

First Place:  Bedford High School, Unleashed

Second Place: Oyster River, Mouth of the River

Third Place: Pinkerton Academy, The Launch Pad.

College and University Categories

General Excellence

First Place: Staff, The New Hampshire.

Second Place: Staff, The Equinox

Third Place: Staff, Main Street Magazine

Investigative story or series

First Place: Max Scheinblum, The New Hampshire, “The Mill Pond Dam”

Second Place: Tom Benoit, The Equinox, “TKE receives sanctions following 2 hazing investigations”

Third Place: Staff, The New Hampshire, “Reproductive Rights on Campus.”

General News

First Place: Amanda Pirani, The New Hampshire: New funds provide tools to fight substance abuse in Dover.

Second Place: Tom Benoit, The Equinox, KSC, USNH gave out $800,000 in bonuses since summer 2020.

Third Place: Stefanie Kistler, The New Hampshire, UNH Students React to Arrests of Sigma Alpha Epsilon Members over Alleged Hazing.

Feature Story

First Place: Rhianwen Watkins, the New Hampshire: UNH Continues to Fight Food Insecurity on Campus

Second Place: Tim Bruns, the Equinox, “From the Congo to Keene”

Third Place: Stefanie Kistler, The New Hampshire, “UNH Legend, Paul from Hoco: His Unique and Compelling Life Story”


Arts and Entertainment

First Place: Caitlin Howard, The Equinox, “Redfern turns 40.”

Second Place: Ashlyn Giroux, The New Hampshire, “Local Musician Spotlight: Kate Possi”

Third Place, Caitlin Howard, The Equinox, “Making meSSeS”

Third Place, Nicole Dumont, the Equinox, “Connecting performer and audience”

Sports Writing

First Place, Cameron Beall, The New Hampshire, “Wildcats depleted after five players enter transfer portal.”

Second Place: Caitlin Howard, Kayla Barrett, The Equinox , OFF THE ICE: Women’s club hockey cancels 2022-23 season”

Third Place: Andrew Gardner, The New Hampshire, “Young talent could be spark that reignites Wildcats hockey”

Opinion or Commentary (only two winners)

First Place: Abby Provencal, The Equinox, “Failing the people and violating human safety”

Second Place: Josh Shaw, The New Hampshire, “The Batman: A Film Both Needed and Deserved”


First Place: Tom Benoit, The Equinox, “An Evening of Dance”

Second Place: Jackie Weik, The New Hampshire, “SCOPE Concerts”

Third Place: Kayla Barrett, The Equinox, “Women’s volleyball advances to NCAA postseason”

Page Design

First Place: Caitlin Howard, The Equinox, “An Evening of Dance”
Second Place: Tom Benoit, The Equinox, November 17

Third Place: Caitlin Howard, The Equinox, “Redfern turns 40”           

Best Use of Multimedia

First Place: Staff, The New Hampshire, TNH Social Media

Second Place: Max Scheinblum, The New Hampshire, “Politics As Usual”

Third Place: Matthew White, The Equinox, “Take Back the Night”

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *